So as you might be able to deduce from my title I am sick. Sick, sick, sick, sick. And it is no fun at all. I woke up this morning feeling achy, and hot and cold, and weak, and just plain awful. Just to make things even better I was supposed to take the SATs the morning. Well as you can guess that didn’t happen. Instead I went back to sleep until my mom woke me up to tell me I had a doctor’s appointment. So I got out of bed put on some shoes and a sweatshirt and left.

Luckily I returned armed with antibiotics!! Of course antibiotics mess with my stomach like its their job so that will be fun, but hopefully I will be feeling much healthier tomorrow because this week is mid-term exams at school!!! I am actually feeling a little better even now although that may have something to do with the ridiculous amount of sleeping I have done today (put it this way I have spent more of today asleep than awake).

Ok let’s take a little break from the complaining to talk food!

So one of my favorite magazines is Cooking Light. I love that their recipes are super healthy but also interesting and not boring, flavorless health food (or even worse full of fake ingredients). Every Sunday night my mom and I pick a new recipe from Cooking Light to try. I realized that I really need to be photographing this new trend of ours (I have only been subscribed to CL since Christmas so the Sunday dinners is a new thing). Last week we made Sweet and Sour Chicken with Bok Choy and Rice with scallions (the bok choy and rice are our own creations not from a recipe). It was so freakin’ awesome I can’t even tell you guys! And easy too!

Seriously it was so good, the sauce was just the right mix of spicy, and salty, and sweet. The rice was the perfect balance between sticky and creamy and the bok choy was tender but still a little crunchy.

Monday was Martin Luther King Day and my mom stayed home with me to keep me company since I hate being home alone all day (and let’s be honest she was looking for an excuse to take a day off :P) so we decided to make another fun dinner (read dinner we actually put effort into).

We made meat-less meatballs from Trader Joes in “tomato sauce” with tomatoes (duh) and spinach, and leeks. I also added some Prego and tomato paste to make is saucy-er. With that we had polenta!! I honestly think that polenta may just be the ultimate comfort food, it’s just so creamy and perfect!!

The lighting in this picture sucks but so it doesn’t look so pretty but it tasted delish!

Tonight for dinner I am having chicken soup with rice, so I will be “sipping once, sipping twice, sipping chicken soup with rice”! (anyone??) Because nothing makes a sick person feel better than chicken soup! Especially when made with homemade broth!!

Tomorrow we will be making another CL recipe Chicken Meatloaf (this issue is all about chicken so we have been eating a lot of chicken on Sundays :P). So you will see that next week! Well I am off to eat my soup maybe watch Beauty and the Beast (which fate sent me from Netflix just when I needed it!) and then do some more sleeping!

Farewell my friends!

Belle Elli ❤

