Happy New Year everyone!!  I know I’m a day late, but better late than never right?

I took these pictures in Philly at Penn’s Landing. My mom and I went in and saw the fireworks for people who don’t want to be out at midnight (at 6 at night). They were really awesome.

Then my mom and I walked over to Chinatown for some yummy vegan chinese food. I didn’t take pictures thanks to a dead camera battery, but the food was really good! We ate at this little place called New Harmony, that makes all vegan chinese food. We had steamed veggie dumplings and cold sesame noodles to start then a steamed veggie (bok choy, carrots, and broccoli) tofu, and cellophane noodle hot-pot (which is exactly what it sounds like, a really hot pot that all that stuff is served in) and Moo Shu veggies (veggies that you wrap up with this thick sweet sauce and rice in a crepe/tortilla looking pancakes that tastes nothing like either, its kind of like a chinese burrito). Both dishes were amazing!!! I haven’t had chinese food in a really long time and good chinese food in even an even longer time.

So now it’s officially 2011! I weighed myself for the first time in a while this morning. I had been avoiding it the last few weeks because ever since Thanksgiving I have let myself go a little and I didn’t want to see how much weight I gained. This week I got back on track for the most part though so I knew I needed to just weight myself and get it over with so I could really get back to losing weight. I gained  pounds ( from 150 to 155) which is about what I was expecting but still not fun to see. So now I am back on the wagon and working on taking every day as it comes.

Thinking into the future has always been the way I operated so taking it one day at a time is harder for me than it sounds. There is this part of Eat, Pray, Love ( I love this book so I’m sorry if I’m constantly referencing it) where her sister visits her in Rome and she points out how her sister is always commenting on how she hope she comes back to all the places one day and Liz Gilbert says “but you are here now!”  I am like her sister, always, focused on tomorrow or next year not on today. I think it’s a cause of a lot of my bad moods because I am always thinking about how I want my life to be int he future and how I can get there as opposed to just enjoying where I am now even if it’s not ideal. I am doing my best to keep reminding myself to stay present though.

Today is soup making day in the house. Soup is a frequent dinner for me since it’s a fast, easy, and low-calorie dinner. We are making some “everything-but-the-kitchen-sink soup” that my mom always makes with tons of different veggies that is a staple of my diet, and then some white bean soup with carrots, butternut squash, onions, and sage in the crock pot. so the house basically smells like heaven right now!

Today is my last day of my winter break. Which means I have to go back to school tomorrow! This has been a really nice break, and very much-needed since I have been really hating school lately. I am trying to just enjoy today and not think too much about getting up at 5:30 tomorrow and going back *shudder*

There is not much else to report here so I will leave you with some french toast that I had for breakfast on Christmas Eve morning. I hadn’t had french toast in years ( I know it should be a crime, but its not exactly weight friendly)

Beautiful! I cooked some apples in butter and cinnamon and sugar until they were all soft and sweet then added some cherries at the end, and then topped the toast with that and some bananas and dried cranberries and of course plenty of maple syrup! I can make the actual toast part myself but my mom made it because she always did when I was a kid and there is nothing like it! It literally tasted like my childhood (although I didn’t have all the fancy toppings then)!

So that’s this weeks blog post! I am thinking I will probably end up posting on Fridays normally but we’ll see what happens. Awhile back I got a request to post what I eat in a day and I haven’t forgotten don’t worry. So hopefully I can finish that soon and post that in a week or two!! I hope everyone had a great New Years and I hope you all have fabulous 2011s!!

Elli

